Posted by: amyedwards | August 27, 2007

Ham Pie – A family favorite!

I don’t have much to write about right now, so I thought I’d share a recipe of an Edwards’ family favorite.  I got this recipe from my mother-in-law.  It is so simple, but absolutely delicious!  Definitely a comfort food, of sorts!

Ingredients:

2 cups of diced ham (I use turkey ham because it is cheaper and better for us.)

1/4 cup oil

3 tblsp. chopped onion

6 tblsp. flour

1 can Cream of Chicken Soup

1 1/3  cup of milk

1/2 cup of water

Canned biscuits (I use the small biscuits (Pillsbury) that usually only come 4 rolls together).  You don’t want big, flaky biscuits.

Directions:

Brown the onions in the oil.  Then add all other ingredients (minus biscuits).  Pour mixture into baking dish (13 x 9 or so) and put biscuits on top of mixture.  Bake at 350 degrees until biscuits cook. 

 ENJOY!

Responses

  1. That sounds like one I’d like to try this winter. Quick and easy…right up my alley!

  2. Ok, you are the first person I have ever seen outside our famiy that eats ham pie. My recipe is a little different from yours–it calls for homemade biscuits with pimento and cheese in them. Anyway, thought I would say hello just because you like ham pie! Hello.


Leave a Reply

Categories

