Posted by: amyedwards | September 14, 2007

Thankful Thursday

Thankful Thursday  This week (specifically Sunday) God reminded me of his incredible love for me and his all-sufficient grace.  I, like so many other women (mothers), struggle with guilt.  I call it my besetting sin.  This sin (yes, guilt over confessed sin is a sin) ultimately affects so many different areas of my life.  I see it in the way I discipline (or don’t) my children.  It creeps up in my relationship with my husband.  It even raises its ugly head in my daily relationship with God.  Can anyone relate?  I’ve actually come to realize that guilt keeps me from changing and becoming all that God wants me to be.  Now do you see why it is a sin?

We had communion (the Lord’s Supper) this past Sunday morning in church.  Our pastor did things very differently this time.  He asked us to think about what it means to be a disciple.  Next, was what we want to be remembered for.  Then, he wanted us to think about what areas of our life we need to change.  He then talked about Judas and his betrayal.  Why do you think Judas betrayed Jesus?  30 pieces of silver really was not very much money to Judas, so what would cause him to betray his Saviour?  What causes you to betray Him?  We all betray Him from time to time.  Think about why you do so.    Then our pastor talked about God’s all-sufficient grace.  And that God knows even before we do that we will betray Him, yet He loves us still!

Then, on to Sunday School.  Our lesson was out of the book of Romans, specifically chapters 7 and 8.  If you are unfamiliar with them, and you struggle with guilt, check it out.  We are no longer slaves to sin, but rather to righteousness.   There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.  Romans 8:1  Our teacher said this:  “God would not be God if he just forgot your confessed sin because God is perfect and cannot “forget”.  The difference is He chooses to forget!”

After church on Sunday, I knew God was speaking to me and, if nothing else, just reminding me that He loves me and that his grace is sufficient.  My daily mishaps and even those areas of my life that I cannot conquer and seem to continuously have to ask forgiveness for, He continuously forgives!  Then this week I went to Terri’s site, Ornaments of Grace, and was reminded once again!  Do you think He is trying to teach me something?

Anyway, sorry this site has been so long.  I am, this week, especially grateful that God loves me enough to show me, time and time again, that He is all I need!  I’m getting it, slowly but surely!

Please visit Sting My Heart for more Thankful Thursdays.

Responses

  1. Can’t think of anything else to write a lot about but Jesus! Great post, Amy. I made it Sunday and have been thinking about it every day since then.

  2. Glad you joined the Thankful Thursday list! Enjoyed reading your thankful list! Blessings on your sweet family!

  3. I’m right there with you. We had communion several weeks ago on Sunday night and I’m ALWAYS so convicted about dwelling on things rather than just accepting God’s grace and mercy and moving on. Thanks for sharing your heart with us. It means so much to me to know that others are facing the came convictions and trials.

    Hope you’re having a BLAST on your girls weekend!!! 🙂

  4. You are so kind acknowledging my site! I’m so glad my humble ramblings were a blessing to you. And I too find great comfort in Romans 7 and 8. The grace available to us in Christ is so pure and beautiful we sometimes can’t fathom it in our finite human minds. Hang in there! I hope you have a wonderful birthday celebration weekend!

  5. God’s grace is sufficient–and I’m so glad for that. Have a great weekend.

  6. Bless you dear one.

  7. Amy, just think, if you were a totally perfect mother you would automatically set your children up to fail. They would think they could never live up to it. Seeing your mistakes helps them realize that you are human. They know it’s ok for them to mess up too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

