Posted by: amyedwards | October 2, 2007

It’s a Scam!

So, some of you will remember my earlier post when I was wondering if selling in consigment sales is really worth it!  Well, in case you haven’t figured it out, it’s all a big scam!  This is how it works:

First, you spend countless hours getting all of your things together and priced.  (Some people even take the time to iron their clothes.  Not me!)  Anyway, then you take those items in and half of them are rejected because of slight snags, stains (that can only be seen under florescent lighting), etc.  So you leave irritated because of all the time you spent on the items that are rejected and coming back home with you.  Then, you go to the seller’s preview sale and spend some of the money you are trying to make.  (I did very good this year and was very picky about what I bought and made sure to only buy what I knew I needed!  They didn’t get me there:))  Of course, just as you are getting over the rejection of some of your items, you go to the preview sale and find all kinds of crap that should have been rejected but wasn’t.  You feel the anger boiling up inside of you as you remember how you had to hold your rejected item just a certain way and under direct sunlight to even see why it was rejected.  (Yes, I’m bitter too, Jodi!)  Next, you wait a few days for the sale to end and you pick up your ridiculous amount of unsold items.  As you are loading your car back up, you’re thinking to yourself, “I didn’t sell squat!  What a waste of time! I’m never doing this again!”  You run by the local Goodwill drop-off on the way home to rid yourself of the items you never wanted to see again!  And then you wait!  During said waiting time (usually 2 weeks), you have time to move on with life and get over all of your frustrations.  Your house that you had neglected in your quest to sell in the sale is back to normal.  You’ve forgotten what a pain it was to pull up all of the buckets from the basement, put the things on hangers, tag them, etc.  All is well! 

That’s when it happens.  You get your check in the mail.  What you thought was going to be “next to nothing” turns out to be $82.00.  That might not seem like a lot to some of you out there, but it’s $82.00 that I get to spend any way that I wish.  It’s mine!  It’s not budgeted money and I can spend it however I like! 

So, the wheels start turning, and now you start thinking, “Maybe it wasn’t so bad after all.  I mean, I really didn’t spend that much time on it.  And I did get rid of some of those buckets in the basement.  Etc.”  IT’S A SCAM!!!

Will I be scammed again in March for the spring sale?  That remains to be seen!

Responses

  1. Well, I know I could use $82. Divide it by the number of hours you spent getting all your stuff together. Find your per hour wage, add the value of the excitement you felt when you got your check, and then you’ll know whether or not you want to do it again in the spring. As for your comment on my blog: What? Can’t a girl be president? :))

  2. $82 to spend any way you want, that’s AWESOME!!! I’d feel like I’d hit the lottery if I had 82 unbudgeted dollars!! 🙂 Enjoy.

  3. If I get $82 and I divide that by the number of hours worked that would be around $10 an hour and that is seriously more than I usually make around here! 🙂

    Great Job!!!

  4. You guys crack me up! If you want to do it again, leave all your stuff on hangers (as much as possible) and all you have to do is tag. What sale did you guys do anyway? Sounds pretty tough.

  5. Michele, I did the B Beginnings sale. Oh, I also wanted to say that I took all of my unsold items to a local “gently used” clothing store and they gave me $25 for the items they took! Not bad!!!

  6. It’s kind of like having a yard sale. It all depends on how bad you really need the money. Hopefully, it will be a longgggggggg time before I do a sale again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

