Posted by: amyedwards | November 26, 2007

My Thanksgiving List – a few days late!

1.  My salvation.  I’m thankful that at a very young age, I understood that I was a sinner.  I had always (having grown up in a Christian home) been exposed to the gospel, so I knew there was a God who loved me enough to send his only Son to die on a cross for my sins.  So when I understood my need for a Saviour, I asked Jesus in my heart.

2.  God’s mercy and all-sufficient grace.  I’m so grateful for God’s tender mercies that are fresh and new to me each morning.  I fail him so often, and He continues to love me through it, giving me chance after chance after chance.  He proves His love for me every day (even the days I don’t return the favor)!

3.  My sweet husband.  I am married to a wonderful man who loves me far more than I deserve.  We have been married almost 13 years now, and I love him more today than ever before.  I’m thankful for his  commitment to our marriage.

4.  My precious children.  There was a time when I wasn’t sure I would ever have children.  After having tried unsuccessfully for three-and-a-half years to conceive, we tried everything.  And I do mean everything.  After all of our own “remedies”, fertility drugs, three unsuccessful inseminations, and foster parenting/adoption certification (just because I wanted to be a mommy to someone), God blessed us with our first pregnancy, Noah.  Our “efforts” were all in vain.  We didn’t need any of those things.  We just needed to be patient.  Two years later, God blessed us with our second pregnancy (Colby) after only one “try”!   A little over a year after Colby was born, along came our third pregnancy (Addilyn) with no “tries”!  Everything happens in His perfect timing!  Unfortunately, we had to learn that the hard way in the beginning with MANY disappointments!  If only we had trusted Him early on. 

5.  My job.  I love being a stay-at-home mom!  I consider it such an honor and privilege to have the ability to be with my children throughout the day.  It has always been my dream, and I’m so fortunate to be living it!

6.  My church.  My family is so blessed to belong to a church where we feel God’s presence each week.  We have a pastor who not only brings us the truth of God’s Word, but he is genuine.  It is so refreshing to have a leader who doesn’t try to come across as perfect, but admits his faults, his fears, and his failures while he continues to grow in the Lord.

7.  My friends.  I have some of the best friends possible.  Some of them I’ve had for years and we’ve only grown closer.  Others I have only been close to for a short time, but feel like I’ve known them forever.  They are truly my blessing!

So, sorry it was a bit late, but those were the things I was most thankful for this year!   

Responses

  1. Great list. It’s never too late to express your thankfulness!

  2. My list would look just the same (with a few different details!). I am thankful for those very things too.

  3. That’s a great list, Amy. We all have so much to be thankful for.


Leave a Reply

Categories

