Posted by: amyedwards | November 29, 2007

I’ve come a long way, Baby!

I was looking around at my home Christmas decor today and got a little tickled.  Isn’t it amazing how much having children changes you?  There was a time, before kids, that my tree was decorated solely by me and, in my eyes, was perfect.  Christmas ribbon ran throughout the tree in the place of garland, all of the ornaments matched, all of the presents were wrapped in paper that coordinated with the tree, etc.  In fact, my husband had a good number of odd ornaments that he brought into our marriage from his childhood, but I wouldn’t “allow” them.  I wanted my tree to be “pretty” and pretty it was!  I was never one for clutter, so I didn’t put out a lot of Christmas decorations.  My husband and I had coordinating stockings so that the mantle was “pretty”, etc.  Do you get the picture?

Then I had kids!  Our oldest is five, and I’ve “given in” quite a bit since he was born.  But until this year, I still did not relinquish my control!  This year, things were different.  Noah and Colby were both old enough to really anticipate “decorating” the tree, so I decided to let them.  We got our pre-lit tree out of the basement, put it together, and half of the lights did not work.  The boys were so disappointed when we told them they would have to wait until we could either fix the lights, get a new tree, or put more lights on the tree.  They patiently waited 2 whole days with the ornament boxes staring them in the faces.  Finally, the time came and we gave the go ahead!  They were so thrilled.  Chanch and I sat back and watched while they put ornaments on.  Addilyn even got in on the action!  Of course, my intentions were to go back and “fix” it after they went to bed, but I really couldn’t bring myself to do it.  There was something so precious about all of our mix and match ornaments (some made by the kids at school) hung on the lower half of our tree where their little arms could reach.  Granted, there were two or three hung on each branch, with Noah declaring that we weren’t going to have enough for the whole tree:)  But they were so proud of their work!  So, I decided to go all out.  We put out every Christmas decoration we have, regardless of the clutter!  My mantle now has 5 mix-matched stockings.  Chanch has a snowman, I have a typical boot with “Joy” embroidered on it (very pretty, of course), Noah has a cowboy santa, Colby has a cowboy snowman, and Addilyn has a pink Cinderella princess stocking!  My mantle is so ugly!  I even got window stickers at the drug store and had the children put them on our back door and kitchen windows.  I have a snowman in the middle of the nativity scene.  Santa is upside-down.  And they’ve been moved around so many times now, they hardly stick anymore.  Not to mention the number of times I’ve picked them up off the floor where Addilyn has removed them (just for fun)!  And did I mention fingerprints all over the windows?

Anyway, I have come a long way, baby!  I would rather my children have these Christmas memories and traditions to cherish far more than anything else.  And, by the way, I think my tree is just beautiful!

Responses

  1. And I think this story is just beautiful. I’m sure your kids had a blast!

  2. Good for you Amy! I can’t wait to see your BEAUTIFUL decorations!!! And I really mean that! 🙂

  3. Way to go, Amy! They are small for such a short period of time and sounds like you have found a way to make the most of this time!

  4. Good for you! I know it was hard. And yes, they will have such good memories of it.
    It’s like that chapter by Erma Bombeck about the lawn that never grew b/c the kids were always trampling it. Then when they finally had a pretty lawn, they missed the kids.
    You have chosen well. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

