Posted by: amyedwards | December 5, 2007

Praying for Taylor

I have spent this week praying for a precious 12 year old girl I have never met.  She is the granddaughter of one of my real life heroes, Gerry Sisk.  Ms. Gerry was the director of the women’s ministry at my former church.  She is a Godly woman and she has made a major impact on my life.  She is the first person I ever sat under who gave me a true desire to know God more.  Just listening to her talk about her Heavenly Father makes you desire to know all there is to know.

Taylor received a cat scratch a little over a month ago.  She developed a staph infection from the infected cat scratch.  The doctors put her on various antibiotics, including Bactrim.  They did not know at that time that she was allergic to a major component of that drug.  Unfortunately, she had an allergic reaction within her body, leaving no outward signs of a problem.  After getting very sick with a stomach virus, she was put in the hospital.  Her parents thought they were simply there for IV fluids.  After some blood work revealed that her liver was not functioning properly, Taylor was moved to ICU.  Since then, her liver has basically shut down.  They have given her steroids and numerous plasma blood transplants to try and jump start the damaged liver, but to no avail.  At this point, she is in critical condition and is Priority One for a liver transplant. 

I’m asking my blogging friends to please keep Taylor and her family in your prayers.  I spoke with Ms. Gerry yesterday, and they are just praying and waiting.  She is finding it very difficult to pray for a liver, knowing that some other family will have to lose a loved one in order for her Taylor to live.  His will be done!

Responses

  1. Good words, Amy: His will be done! I’ve already prayed for precious little Taylor.

  2. I am praying too. I can’t imagine what they are going through.

  3. I’ve been praying for her too. What an awful set of circumstances that have come about from playing with a kitty cat.


Leave a Reply

Categories

