Posted by: amyedwards | January 4, 2008

Where did my sweet baby go?

I used to have this sweet baby girl.  She was so loving and sweet-natured (at least with me, anyway).  Truly, she was the child strangers would comment how well-behaved and quiet she was.  That was then!

This is now!  Can she be hitting the terrible twos at 17 months old?  My trip to Wal-Mart this morning was an absolute nightmare!  And, no, I’m not exaggerating.  I was that mother that every customer is staring at, and she was that child that didn’t care who was staring.  She has totally reached that stage (and you mothers all know what I’m talking about) where she is not content in anything that confines her!  No high chairs, no strollers,  no car seats, and definitely no grocery carts!  Worse yet, she doesn’t want to be held either.  She just wants down!  Well, I’m sorry, and call me a bad mom, but I refuse to allow my 17 mo. old to walk inside Wal-mart!  Now that’s a nightmare!  So, I made a choice.  She was forced to stay put in the buggy, screaming all the while.  (Yes, I did pop her little leg several times, but that only made her scream louder!)  Needless to say, I have never wanted to get out of a store faster than I did this morning.  And I’ve never been  more ready to put a child to bed for a nap than I was today!

By the way, I didn’t see my pastor there this morning (as I have in the past), but if he was, I’m certain he’ll be teaching a parenting class in the near future:)

Responses

  1. Oh Man! I feel for ya! I had a trip like that with Emery that seems like yesterday. I think it was Walmart too. After many threats, “pops”, and staring him down while flaring my nostrils I began to wonder if I should just go. Or would that be letting him “win”. I dunno, but I stuck it out and I’ll never forget it! 🙂

  2. That brought back memories of a 45 minute fit my little darling threw at WalMart once. The line never went slower and I couldn’t do what needed to be done properly in front of everyone. By the time we got to the car she was beyond crazy with hysteria. She fell asleep on the way home only to wake up when we got there are RESUME!!!!

    I almost put her out by the curb.

  3. sweet little addilyn?????? are you sure we are talking about the same baby? jk

  4. Okay, my 17 month od always wants to walk around on her own in the store, too. When my hubby or her siblings are present to help out, I let her go for it. If i’m alone, she has to suffer through riding in the buggy. And yes, we deal with the temper tantrums and falling on the floor and all that stuff too. Maybe like 40 is the new 30, 17 months is the new terrible twos!

  5. Oh, Amy. Girls are so full full of drama! I know boys have fits too but it seems worse to me than my boys. Your’re doing great at sticking to keeping her in the buggy. Would she like the big buggy with the blue seats? I hate those but if it worked! Or, you could go to Wal-Mart at 9:00p.m.-Ha

  6. Where did your sweet baby go? The same place mine went, evidently!! 🙂 What IS it with these little girls and their opinions? Our two girls would be r-o-t-t-e-n if they were close to each other! Or should I say more rotten than they already are.


Leave a Reply

Categories

