Posted by: amyedwards | January 7, 2008

Sunday Sermon – 1/6/08

“To Run the Race in Such a Way to Glorify Him”

Scripture Reference:  Hebrews 12:1-3

What is one thing you learned this past year that will help you in this year?  Did you learn it by mistakes made?  Most resolutions are made after we failed at something the year before.  Does God intend on us learning primarily from our mistakes?  I don’t think so.  While we do learn and grow from mistakes made, that shouldn’t be our primary source for growth.  Growth can come out of the good things in our life as well.

Every runner must have the following:

Balance – “laying aside every encumbrance”

What are the good things in your life that are out of balance?  There are good things in life that are not sin, but if they are out of priority, not in balance, etc. they become sin.  Our pastor commented that our children can sometimes be that good thing.  We as parents want to do any and every thing for our children, but that may not be God’s plan.

Discipline – “the sin that so easily besets you”

I have recently defined my besetting sin as guilt.  While that may be what it appears to me as, it probably stems from something deeper.  Our pastor has done years of research and in his experience, he believes that the five most common besetting sins are unforgiveness, pride, fear, lust, and greed.  (I am trying to pinpoint where guilt falls under those five.  Do I allow guilt to control me because I’m fearful of the future, being rejected, etc.)

Satan is not omniscient like God, however we do know that he walks about, seeking whom he may devour and that he seeks to steal and destroy.  While he may not know what is in our hearts, he does watch us and knows our weaknesses.  Each believer has a sin that “easily” besets or ensnares them.  Determine your besetting sin (your weakness) because in our weakness God is made strong.

The disciplined runner is spirit led (under God’s authority).  Too often we forget about the Holy Spirit.  We do what we want and what we think is best, thereby quenching and grieving the Spirit.  If you are not in the Word of God, you cannot be in the will of God and cannot know His ways.  “Thy Word have I hid in my heart, that I might not sin against God.”  This is not simply scripture memory.

The alternative is to be led by the flesh.  *Note:  If a Christian is led by the flesh and not the Spirit, they will still try to pull up God’s Word and use it as a means to get what they want.  Most Christians know enough of God’s Word to find scripture to back them up.

Endurance – “let us run with endurance the race that is before us”

Are we running to win or to not lose?  Will we be content to stand before a holy and righteous God one day and say, “Well, I didn’t do all that you wanted of me, but I’m still here.  I made it anyway.” 

In raising our children, do we want them to be good or godly?  Do we want them to avoid filthy language, drugs, premarital sex, etc. because we want them to be good, moral people or are we raising them to be Godly boys and girls who will make those choices for themselves because they love their God and want to please Him with their bodies?  Run to Win!

Focus – “fixing our eyes on Jesus”

Don’t lose sight of the prize!  Our focal point should be a person not a place.  Meeting our Saviour and desiring to worship Him for all that He is, rather than simply making it to Heaven should be our ultimate goal.

(I want my children to understand that “running the race” is developing a relationship.  The Christian life doesn’t start and end with salvation.)

Prayer:  Father, I thank you for putting me under leadership where I can grow and learn more about You.  I pray that one day my children will have that same opportunity.  God, reveal to me the good things in my life that you’ve blessed me with and I’ve allowed them to get in the way of my becoming all that You’d have me to be.  What encumbers me?  Show me what my besetting sin is.  As I seek Your face, I pray that You’ll show me what sin easily entangles me and help me to confess it.  Show  me what Your Word has to say with regard to that sin.  Father, I pray that I will be Spirit led, seeking Your Word and Your will for my life.  That I’ll not just finish the race, but I’ll win and hear You say, “Well done.”  Help me to focus on You and no other thing because You alone are worthy.   In Your name I pray, Amen.

Responses

  1. […] January 14, 2008 Filed under: Sunday’s Sermons — amyedwards @ 12:50 pm It appears that last week’s message was an eye-opener for lots of people – not just me.  So, this week was a quick review of what was […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

