Posted by: amyedwards | February 6, 2008

Sunday’s Sermon – 2/3/08

If you are just tuning in to the sermon series on Besetting Sins, you’ll need to go back and review previous posts before reading this one.  Hopefully by now, you have some idea about what your besetting sin is.  Of course, as the series continues and focuses on the different sins more in depth in the future, you may change your mind.  I did, but that’s for another post. 

This week’s sermon was all about fighting and winning the battle for giving God complete authority in our lives.

  1. Prepare Daily (Eph. 6:11-16) – Put on the whole armour of God.
  2. Submit Daily (James 4:7-9) – Submit to God’s authority and resist the devil.
  3. Pray Daily (Lk. 22:40; Eph. 6:18) – Ask for help to resist temptation
  4. Recognize Hindrances (I Thess. 2:18) – What boulders are in your pathway
  5. Recognize Temptation (I Cor. 10:12-13) – Take heed and be aware of what tempts you.  God has made a way of escape.
  6. Establish Accountability (I Tim. 3:6-7; I Cor. 7:5) – put yourself in a position to “stand in good report” with those around you
  7. Establish Longevity (I Tim. 1:18-20) – Hold onto your faith and keep a good conscience

In the weeks to come, we will begin talking about the particular besetting sins in detail.  We are surrounded by “so great a cloud of witnesses”.  Those who have gone before us and fought the good fight.  With each besetting sin, we will look at Biblical examples and how their besetting sin affected them.  Up first, Gideon and Timothy with the sin of fear. 

Come back next week – you won’t want to miss it!

Responses

  1. […] the next day I was talking to my accountability partner about it all.  She asked me where did I think “guilt” came into that.  I told her I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

