Posted by: amyedwards | April 21, 2008

What are you seeking?

I recently finished the Bible study “Breaking Free” by Beth Moore.  I got sooooo much out of this study, I could write all day.  But I’ll just share one thing for now:

In one of the video sessions, Beth told the story of the woman at the well.  I had heard the story many times, but this time, the Lord really spoke to me.  Beth brought out the fact that the woman had been married five times and was, at that time, living with another man.  What exactly would cause a woman to marry five different times?  That’s uncommon even in today’s society, but even more so in Bible times!  She was definitely searching for something – trying to fill some holes in her life. 

Jesus sent His disciples away prior to her arrival because He (in His omniscience) knew she was coming and He had something to say to her.   It was not coincidence that Jesus met her at the well.  She was thirsty – and not just in a physical kind of way.  Jesus knew that there were empty places in her life that needed to be filled.  He also knew that only Living Water would fill those voids.  If she drank of that Living Water she would never thirst again. 

So what are your empty places?  We all have them.  That’s life!  Was or is something withheld from you that you desperately long for?  Did you lose something or someone?  Or maybe you’re in need of more than salvation alone?  I’ve learned it to be true that we receive salvation when we ask, but we have to seek satisfaction.  And with what have you tried to fill up those empty places?  Your answer may not be multiple marriages, but is it relationships, wealth, success, stuff, or even food?  Or maybe you know that Jesus is the only thing that can satisfy, it’s just been a while since you’drank the water?

My personal “woman at the well” encounter with Jesus came several months ago.  For far too long I have tried to fill those empty spaces on my own.  I continued to be unsatisfied and then had to suffer the consequences of bad decisions.  I have now found complete satisfaction in the Living Water.  No, it doesn’t come with salvation.  I’ve had that for years.  It came with a personal relationship with Jesus and thru earnestly seeking to know Him more on a daily basis.

If you’re seeking, go to the well.  You will never thirst again!  And then you can say with me and the psalmist:

O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.  I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory.  Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you.  I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands.  My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you.          Psalm 63:1-5

Responses

  1. I am seeking someone to teach me Breaking Free! 🙂

    I really like those verses from Psalm 63.

  2. “We receive salvation, but we seek satisfaction.” Such profound words, dear Amy! You’re right. If we don’t learn contentment, we will seek satisfaction, and in most cases, it will distract us from the One who gives true satisfation. Sounds like your study was well worth the time!

    By the way, I enjoyed your comment on my blog. You sounded quite satisfied!


Leave a Reply

Categories

