Posted by: amyedwards | May 15, 2008

Sunday’s Sermon – Mother’s Day 2008

Wow – what a message this was!  Let me just start by saying that I was overwhelmingly glad for two different reasons that my only daughter is just 21 months old.  First, I was grateful to hear the truths in this sermon while Addilyn is still a baby and not old enough to want to fight me on things like clothes, boys, etc.  Second, I didn’t feel like I was sitting in the hot seat during this sermon.  There were a lot of moms there that were!  Trust me though, I’ve been in the hot seat plenty enough lately.  It was just nice to have a break!   (As a sidenote, I should take this opportunity to say again how grateful I am to belong to a church that preaches the truth – even if it hurts sometimes.  There are far too many “feel good” preachers out there – which, by the way, is a sign of the end of times!  I’m just glad my pastor isn’t one of those.)  Now for the notes:

Moms Raising Moms – Proverbs 31:10-31 (The Responsibility of Moms to their Daughters)

1.  It is the responsibility of Mom to teach their girls how to discover their worth (10)

     The world’s formula for self-worth (I Sam. 16:7) is what you look like, what you do, what others think of you.

      God’s Formula (Ps. 139:13-18 ) is what you are, who you are, what God thinks of you.

2.  It is Mom’s responsibility to teach our girls how to date (11-12)

      The question is not to date or not to date.  The question is WHEN to date. 

      Dating Principle:  Proverbs 4:23 (“Above all else guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.”)  First and foremost, a girl should not be allowed to date until she has completely given her heart to God and she is seeking His will for her life.

      With this in mind, it is also our responsiblity to teach them how to dress.  Our girls (young girls, I might add) are dressing more and more provocatively and we are accepting it as “cute”.  Our pastor said that his little 8 yr. old girl is his baby doll, but you won’t know it because it is written on the back of her shorts.  Why would you want attention drawn to your sweet baby’s rear-end?  (Song of Solomon 8:4)  He also commented that he is sick and tired of hearing moms use the cop out that the stores just don’t sell modest clothing for young girls.  If that’s true, learn how to sew!

3.  Teach them how to develop character (13-24)

      “Girls who are sugar and spice and everything nice are developed not born.”

      Character Principle (Deut. 6:4-9)  Godly character is a combination of walking the talk and talking the walk.

4.  Teach them how to decode the times (25-26)

     The Eve Syndrome (Gen. 3:1-7)  The once forbidden fruit is now a dangling carrot.

       The 2 biggest influences on young girls today are peers and media.  We should strive to build the relationship with them while they’re young and teach them how to choose good friends.

5.  Teach them how to dress (30a)

      Clothing principle (1 Timothy 2:9-10)

      Are your daughters dressed to lure or dressed to be pure?

6.  Teach them how to become disciples (30b)

     It is Mom’s responsibility to raise my girl to be His girl. 

      No one can disciple your daughter like you can.  Beth Moore can have all of the knowledge of God’s Word and speak it eloquently, but she can not disciple my daughter like I can.  She does not know the heart of my daughter like I do.  I have the greatest influence on her life now!

*  Many statistics were given during this sermon with regard to young girls.  Bro. Ronnie credited the following book for some of his material: 

Your Girl by Vicki Courtney  Raising a Godly Daughter in an Ungodly World

My mother-in-law was visiting with us for Mother’s Day and was nice enough to go and purchase this book for me and my sister-in-laws.  I can’t wait to start reading it!

Responses

  1. Wish I could have been there to hear this in person. Going to have to get the audio and borrow your book for sure! 🙂

  2. Raising a daughter is the hardest job I have ever had. I love the book and loved reading the sermon notes!


Leave a Reply

Categories

