Posted by: amyedwards | May 18, 2008

Keepin’ It Real

  Brenda at Family Revised is hosting a “Keepin It Real” extravaganza.  The topic is “Stupid New Mom Moments”.  How is this for stupid:

When Noah, my firstborn, was just a couple of weeks old, I went to the mall with my mother-in-law, Ladrene.  We were in one of the large department stores.  Noah, in his carrier and stroller, was with me shopping in the baby clothing section.  My MIL went to shop for her older grandchildren in the older children’s section on the other side.  I picked out a few adorable outfits to get Noah and went to show Ladrene what I had found.  When I finally located her, I asked her what she thought about this one and that one, etc.  She asked, “Where is he?”  I said, “Where’s who?”  It seems that even with a c-section incision and swollen, nursing breasts, I had forgotten that I had a baby.  And, worse yet, I was shopping for him!

Anyway, we both took off across the store searching frantically for a stroller that could not be seen for all the clothing racks.  We found him, sleeping like an angel, in the exact spot where I had forgotten him.  I, of course, was an emotional basket case and spent the rest of the day begging my MIL not to tell my husband!

Responses

  1. I don’t even know what to say! That is so funny and doesn’t sound like you at all! 🙂

  2. OK, this is already the second post about people leaving their newborns. Lets just all agree to blame in on “mommy brain” shall we?

    HOW horrifying! Thanks for sharing!

  3. This is a ‘ditto’ moment. Come over to my blog and you’ll know exactly what I mean. Incredible!

  4. Oh no!! I hope your MIL was gracious and remembered her times as a new Mom and didn’t rat you out!

  5. I don’t think you are alone on this one at all!!!

  6. I use to have dreams ALL the time when I was pregnant that I would forget my little one somewhere. I am just such a routine and habit forming person that I knew it would take a while to add him in to my schedule! Funny though, when he came out it was all about ME conforming to his schedule! 🙂

  7. This reads so like Mary’s story are you sure you aren’t both related !! I’ll bet that baby looked absolutely gorgeous too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

