Posted by: amyedwards | June 12, 2008

Random Thoughts

So, it’s been a while since I blogged (yet again!).  Truth is, I haven’t had a lot to say, and I’ve been enjoying reading others’ blogs who do have something to say:)  But, here are some thoughts I have today:

First, I miss my buddy, Jodi at Fruit Inspection.  She has been in Honduras this week on a mission trip with our church.  If you read her blog, I know you’ve missed her too.  But I’ve missed more than her writing – I’ve missed her friendship.  She and I don’t have the “talk on the phone every day” kind of friendship, but we usually do talk at least once a week or so.  This week, however, I’ve thought of picking up the phone several different times and realized she’s still gone.  Maybe I’m having the urge to talk to her because I’m dying to hear about her experiences in Honduras.  She was so nervous ahead of time, but I know God has something in store for her.  She comes home today, but I have a feeling I will be on the back-burner while she reunites with her children – and rightly so!

Second, I recently read a great post on WhoollyPeaches which led me to another great post.  If you have the time, check out this story.  I have every intention of breaking my own pitcher, but I’m really waiting for the Lord to tell me when.  I only want the experience if He is the one teaching me through it!

Third, for those of you who read My Journey and wonder if that fire is still burning, I want you to know it is.  I am praying that God will continue to fan the flame and keep His Word alive in me.  After finishing Breaking Free, I have since done Loving Well by Beth Moore with a group of ladies in my church.  It’s funny how often I think of that study now (especially when I’m around my “testy” people).  I’m now doing Daniel by Beth Moore with Chanch.  I have to say, I’m praying through this one.  I’m enjoying it so much, but it is very different from the others.  Beth Moore even says in the first session that you need to make room for the fact that this Bible study is not about you,  but is more about the Bible and learning more about God.  There will be days where God does not speak to you personally about your life, but instead, a time of learning more about Him.  Okay, sounds easy enough – I agree.  But when you’ve come out of Breaking Free (which is all about you and is so personal), I’m finding that I keep looking for some personal revelation.  Of course, my prayer throughout BF, was that I wanted to know Him more because “the more I know Him, the more I will want to know Him.”  Maybe that is why God led me to the study of Daniel!

That’s about it for now.  I hope you are all having a fabulous summer.  I’m really enjoying having my kids at home.  Yes, there are days . . ., but I’m really enjoying their company.  I promise to post again soon – as soon as something blog worthy roles around:)

Responses

  1. Thank you so much for reaching out. It’s such an indescribable journey filled with so much guilt and shame to wade through. For not being what I want to be and for the emotions that spring up along the way. Your children are beautiful, thank you for the hope they bring to a stranger.

  2. Missed you too, Friend! We have lots to talk about when I get a spare minute or two (or 200!!!) 🙂

  3. I can’t wait to break my pitcher too. I just need time to read up on it and devote some time to praying for the right time too.

  4. I have missed your random thoughts! (and cool insights on Ronnie’s sermons:) I hope you guys are having a wonderful summer. I can’t wait to hear about all your adventures.

  5. I’m glad that you and your family are doing well. Thanks so much for the encouragement you offered on my blog about the nursing. You have no idea how much that meant to me because we are still struggling in that area.

    And I’m particularly glad to know that your fire is still burning!


Leave a Reply

Categories

