Posted by: amyedwards | July 10, 2008

Florida – Here we come!

We are leaving early (3:00 a.m.) Saturday morning for our family vacation (graduation, as Colby calls it) to Navarre Beach, Florida.  We are looking so forward to getting away for awhile.  We typically don’t do extended family vacations, but this year we are going with my older sister, Shelly, and her husband and kids.  I say kids, but Alex (she’s 16) and Adam (he’s 13) aren’t what I call kids (given the ages of my three).  Anyway, we have not been to Florida in years.  Last year we didn’t even go to the beach.  The three years prior to that, we’ve gone to Myrtle Beach in South Carolina. 

If you’re wondering why we’ve chosen to leave in the middle of the night, it’s for a couple of different reasons.  First, I’m hoping my kids (and me too) will sleep a good part of the way down.  Secondly, we are trying to make it to Pensecola Beach (just outside of Navarre Beach) by 12:00 Noon to see the Blue Angels perform an air show.  I had gone on their web site to look up their practice schedule, hoping we could sneak a peek of their practice one day while we’re there.  Much to my surprise, they are doing an actual air show on the beach this Saturday!  I was soooo excited to hear that it didn’t begin until Noon.  There is going to be all kinds of things prior to the Blue Angels performance.  The U.S. Coast Guard is even going to perform a rescue demonstration, dropping men out of a helicopter 500 feet above the ocean.  I just know the boys are going to love seeing it all!

Anyway, I figure if we leave early enough, we’ll have plenty of time to make it down by Noon.  It’s not but about a 6 hour drive.  I just don’t want to be rushed when we stop for lunch.  And, unlike when I was a kid, I want to feel free to stop when my children say they have to use the bathroom.  My dad was the worst at stopping – no matter the need!

So, there you have it.  I’ve had a busy week this week getting things ready for the trip, but I know it will be worth it.  I can’t wait to see Addilyn with sand between her toes.  Her last beach experience was when she was 7 weeks old.  She wasn’t very impressed!  I’ll post again when I return – with lots of pictures, I’m sure!  And hopefully a nice tan:)

Responses

  1. How fun!! I bet you guys are going to have a blast. The drive doesn’t sound to bad (I am not sure how I would be at 3am, though)! My parents were the worst at stopping too…I like it better when David or I are in charge of driving and we can stop whenever we want 🙂 Have a great trip! I can’t wait to see the beach pictures!

  2. Have a fun time. Warning:It’s pretty hot down here right now!!

  3. 3 am? Seriously? You are one brave woman! Call me when you get home! 🙂

  4. Did you have to say older?


Leave a Reply

Categories

