Posted by: amyedwards | August 13, 2008

Aaaah . . . vacation!

And what a vacation it was!  What started out as a 1 week stay in Navarre Beach, Florida, turned into a spontaneous 2 week road trip.  There’s so much I could say, but I’d rather show you lots of pictures!

The Blue Angels air show – Pensecola Beach.  This was my favorite part of the whole trip.  I know, that’s a little strange.  But truly, if you’ve never seen them, you don’t know what you’re missing!  It was absolutely incredible!  Here is just a couple of my favorite pictures.  Let me tell you, I’ve never been more thankful for my Canon Rebel and it’s zoom lens.

 

Beach Bummin’.   We really didn’t spend very much time on the actual beach, which wasn’t very disappointing to either me or Chanch.  Both of us prefer the pool.  We’re not big fans of the sand or the ocean.  What little time we did spend there, we realized that Noah shares our same feelings.  Colby and Addilyn, on the other hand, not so much.  They both enjoyed playing in the ocean and digging in the sand.  Neither of them seemed bothered by it whatsoever.  Unfortunately for them, the jellyfish also liked this part of the beach and they outnumbered us by plenty.  So, our time was limited.  But not before I got a few pictures in. 

                 

On the Hunt.    One good thing about going with other families on vacation, you learn new traditions.  One thing my oldersister’s family enjoys doing is crab hunting in the evening.  I can honestly say that I don’t think Chanch and I would have ever taken our boys out to do this had they not been with us.  And I’m so glad we did.  The kids had a great time with their flashlights, nets, and buckets.  I’m sure “crab hunting” will be a part of our beach vacation for years to come.

     

My Little Dolphin.   Addilyn has never had a fear of water, and this vacation was no exception.  The first thing out of her mouth in the morning was “I wanna wear my swimsuit.”  She had a fabulous time jumping in and swimming to whomever would pick her back up to the side of the pool for the next jump.  Remind me again that she’s not even two yet!

 

Fear Factor.  Chanch persuaded me to get on this crazy swing with him.  It takes you 80 feet into the air while you lay in a horizontal position.  Then, on the count of 1, 2, 3, you pull a cord and off you go – back and forth!  That was not fun!  Let me say that again – THAT WAS NOT FUN!   The look on my face is one of terror people, not fun!

       

Picture Perfect – ha!   Remember my post about our Christmas Card picture?  Here’s a reminder.  Well, these pictures were no different.  Tell me, why do I even try?  And what within me won’t stop trying?  I know I have 3 young children.  I know they aren’t all going to look at the camera at the same time.  Not all going to smile at the same time.  Why do I insist on torchering them and me?  

       

       

My reasons why!  When it’s all said and done, I’m glad we took the time and trouble.

        

Our first detour from home – Mobile, Alabama and the USS Alabama.

 

Our second detour – Biloxi, Mississippi. 

           Nothing worth taking a picture of – seriously.  Just a place to sleep.

Our final detour – New Orleans, Louisiana.   Chanch and I had heard so much about this place, that we had to come and see it for ourselves since we were so close by.  Well, let me just say this, next time I will say, “Been there, done that.”  I really have no desire to ever go back.  Truthfully, this place gave me the creeps.   Oh, and if you’ve never been and you go some day, stock up on the hand sanitizer!

              It was nice though to see the French Quarter, eat Beignets and have coffee at Cafe de Monde, buy a new purse at the flea market, and take the kids on a swamp tour. 

        

Overall, it was a great vacation, packed full of fun things to do!  All good things must come to an end!

      

Responses

  1. Wow! Wow! Wow! What a trip. But my mind got stuck on the slingshot. I can’t believe you got talked into that! Had you been drinking??? And you said that you guys had to pull the cord yourself??? Hello! I’d still be hanging there…sober!

  2. It sounds like you all had a great trip. You know, I can totally relate to the multiple attempts to get a decent family picture!

  3. Nuh UH, NO WAY!! You are way too brave! I don’t think Todd could buy me enough diamonds, clothes, houses, or cars to ever go on the slingshot thing you did!!! Glad you had fun on the rest of your trip!!

  4. What a great vacation and great memories!


Leave a Reply

Categories

