Posted by: amyedwards | August 14, 2008

Homeschool?

No, I’m not!  But the idea is sounding better and better to me each year that I’m asked to be room mom!  What is up with that?  I’ve done it the past 2 years and our small Christian school should know that I’m not very good at it!  I mean, come on! 

I must admit – at first, it seemed right up my alley!  I wouldn’t miss one of the kids’ parties or special days anyway.  And my family teases me all the time about being so maternal and into that sort of thing.  It only seemed natural that I should be room mom.  Problem is (how much time do you have?), I’m not the most organized person in the world.  I’m not a planner.  I’m not a delegater.  I’m easily irritated with parents who won’t take the time to call me back.  Need I go on?  You get the picture, right?  So why doesn’t this school!

Anyway, I tried to say “no” last year.  The teacher didn’t let me.  She convinced me that it would be easier because it was only a 2 day class and there were only 6 kids in the class.  Wrong!  So this year, I had made up my mind that the answer was NO! 

It appears that 4 other moms in the class share my feelings.  I can only imagine what this poor teacher is thinking.  If I were her, I would be worried about how my year is going to go with all of these unsupportive parents!  So, in an effort to do what I can, I’ve once again given in and will be room mom this year. 

Now let me ask you this:

Doesn’t the fact that I don’t commit (until forced to) and the fact that I don’t stick to my guns prove that I’m not the woman for the job?  Evidently not!

Responses

  1. Too funny. I always thought I would be room Mom for my kids-I never have! My advice-start early and collect one sum of money for all the parties and teacher gifts! Do sign up sheets where they have to put their name-if the item is missing everyone knows who forgot it-he he.

  2. I only have one word for you–SUCKER 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

