Posted by: amyedwards | August 19, 2008

Umm, Umm Good!

This past Friday, I bought 3 bushels of fresh, sweet silver queen corn.  I spent the entire day shucking, silking, cutting, scraping, blanching, cooling, bagging and freezing.  The end result was 30 quarts of delicious corn to enjoy all winter long.

     

Yes, I know that you can buy corn frozen or even in a can, but trust me, people, it is worth the trouble!  And the kids and I had a great time working on it together.  Did you know that a 2 year old can even shuck corn? 

Saturday, I split a bushel of fresh butter peas with my mother-in-law.  They are a little less work than the corn, but quite tasty!  My next project will be Chanch’s great-aunt’s family famous apple jelly!  Chanch loved it growing up so he asked me to talk to Ella Ruth and find out how she made it.  She is now in her nineties and bed ridden, so I was honored to sit down beside her while she shared her tips and secrets!  I’ll let you know how it turns out!

Responses

  1. Delicous! You will have to tell me how the jelly turns out and if the receipe is not secret, I would love a copy of it. I love jellies! Yummy! Looks and sounds like the kids had a great time.

  2. What the??? Is this the pioneer woman’s blog? What is shucking, silking, and blanching??? You are now my hero!

  3. You crack me up! No, far from the Pioneer Woman, but I really am enjoying this freezing/canning thing – especially for someone who doesn’t enjoy cooking!

    Come on over and we’ll shuck, silk, and blanch together:)

  4. yummy!! One of my favorite foods is fresh corn. I wish I had the time to be this domestic!! I love the last picture 🙂 She is SO cute helping you work!

  5. You go girl. I wasn’t sure if I was at the right blog-ha ha. You are mcuh more of a cook/pioneer woman than you think.


Leave a Reply

Categories

