Posted by: amyedwards | September 24, 2008

With a heavy heart

I don’t have the right words to express my heart tonight.  My sweet mother-in-law, Ladrene (58), went home to be with the Lord unexpectedly this past Friday morning, September 19th.  For those of you who have not heard, she had knee replacement surgery on Thursday morning.  Everything went well and she was supposed to stay in the hospital for a couple of days and then come home for a full recovery.  On Friday morning, the Lord had other plans.  After doing her exercises and walking for the first time, she began to feel as though she could not breathe and her chest was hurting.  Evidently, a blood clot dislodged from her leg when she was moving and traveled to her lungs. 

I want to take a second to tell you just how awesome our God is.  We have been overwhelmed with the realization that He has been setting in motion her passing for weeks now, even though we were taken by surprise.  Just last Saturday, we took a new family picture.  It had been 3 years since the last family picture was taken, which means Addilyn wasn’t even in it.  I cannot tell you how grateful we are for that picture and the fact that it is the complete family with all 9 of her grandchildren. 

Also, because she was having knee surgery and would be immobilized for 4 to 6 weeks, she had taken special time to tell so many of her friends, co-workers, and church family goodbye, knowing she wouldn’t see them again for a while.  Even though she wasn’t a very outwardly affectionate person, she gave out many hugs before going into the hospital.  Chanch and his brother and sister were able to be with her at the hospital on Thursday for her surgery.  I stayed back with the kids, but we all called her and told her we loved her and were praying for her.  Each of my children were able to speak to her and send their love.  Most of the time when death is sudden and unexpected, people aren’t given the opportunity to say goodbye.  We are blessed beyond measure!  It all reminds me of the following verse:

“The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord: and he delighteth in his way.”  Psalm 37:23 

She was a godly woman and her steps were most definitely ordered the last week of her life.

My intentions were to write a post tonight about her life and all that she meant to me, but that’s just going to have to wait a while.  Please keep our family in your prayers.  We are literally taking it minute by minute as we continue to trust God and His better plan. 

Responses

  1. I’m so sorry. The pictures are wonderful. I will say a prayer for your family a this time.

  2. The whole family is beautiful. I’m so glad you got the pictures and had the opportunity to talk to her one last time. God is good. Love you Friend!

  3. What beautiful family pictures! Your family will be in our prayers. It takes a strong person to praise God through the storm. Your family will be blessed by finding His purpose in everything.

  4. Oh, Amy I am so sorry to hear of your family’s loss. Praying for you all right now.

  5. I am so sorry for you loss! The interesting thing is that I knew about this, but had no idea that she was your mom-in-law. My parents are friends with the owners where she worked, so I was aware of what had happened. Your family has been in all of our prayers!

  6. Amy, I was so sorry to hear about your loss. What a true blessing it is that you got so many special moments with her before this tragedy. And what a truly gorgeous bunch of children! Thankyou for sharing about this trial! Todd and I will be praying for your family.
    Amy H

  7. Amy,
    I literally gasped as I opened your post and began reading. Tears have filled my eyes. I will say prayers for you, Chanch and family. What a blessing to have those beautiful family pictures, and how wonderful that your children will have the memory of that afternoon spent with her.


Leave a Reply

Categories

