Posted by: amyedwards | May 14, 2009

Playing House

Today while I was folding laundry, Addilyn and Colby were playing together.  They proudly announced that they were playing “house”.  I commended them on how well they were playing and how much more I enjoyed seeing them play than fuss and argue.  I continued folding.

A few minutes later, my interest was peaked when I heard Colby asking Addilyn if she was going to spank the baby or did he need to.  She quickly volunteered.  I began watching them from across the room.  (Because if they know you’re watching, they stop!  And don’t even think of getting the video camera out!)  What I saw was so much more than my children playing well together.  I saw my home from the eyes of a 4 year old and a 2 year old.  They treated each other the same way they see their mom and dad relate.  What they said to their baby dolls is what they hear from me.  I have to say, I was convicted.  Some of their mimicking wasn’t so bad.  But I didn’t like everything I saw, especially in the way they treated their babies!  At one point, after the doll received numerous spankings, I stopped them and reminded them to love on their baby, that she needed more than just spankings. 

Do they only see me disciplining or fussing?  Why aren’t they emulating how I love on them?  Does the bad outweight the good?  Today’s play got me thinking.  Discipline is important.  And I do believe what the Bible says that if you love a child, you’ll discipline him.  But children don’t recognize discipline as love.  What they recognize as love is hugs, kisses, book reading, playing, etc.  Just good old fashioned quality time. 

So my conscious effort this summer while they are at home with me will be to make sure that what they see as good outweights what they see as bad.

Responses

  1. You know I can relate to this! I always feel like the bad guy. The one who says “no”, “don’t”, “stop”, or “quiet”. Where is the love??? It’s weird that such a natural feeling toward my kids is something I have to work so hard at showing them.

  2. Thank you for such a true, insightful, thought-provoking post. Thanks for reminding me to show more love and discipline, and not punishment. Have a blessed day!

  3. This was funny and convicting at the same time. Thank you for such profound medicine in such a palatable pill.


Leave a Reply

Categories

