Posted by: amyedwards | February 16, 2010

Sunday Stirrings – Hope and Change

Sunday Stirrings

Did you cringe when you read the title?  Sorry, I couldn’t resist!  Seriously speaking though, I couldn’t think of a more fitting title for this week’s Sunday Stirring.  This past Sunday my pastor talked about making changes within your family.  His sermon seemed to be geared primarily toward the husband/father in the home, but the Holy Spirit was speaking to me about the changes I need to make as a wife and mother.

Here’s the ugly truth:  I am a mess!  I can’t begin to tell you how much self-discipline I lack.  I’m so unorganized and get frazzled with myself all the time.  With the lack of self-discipline and unorganization also comes procrastination.  It’s ridiculous really, and I’m embarrassed to speak of it now.  Last week, I was so busy on Thursday getting ready for Friday’s Valentine’s parties that I totally forgot about Addilyn’s gymnastic class.  And I didn’t even realize it until dinner time that evening.  Hello???  Oh, here’s one – my sister turned 40 (sorry, Shelly) the other day, and at her party I handed her a $20 bill and a bag of her favorite candy.  No card, no gift bag, etc.  Sad, isn’t it?  And there are plenty of other stories where that comes from.  If I planned enough to actually go to the doctor, they could probably make me a walking billboard for some sort of medicine!  You think I jest?  Really, I don’t.

I mentioned in my last post that one of the sins I seem to confess daily along with lack of self-control is yelling at my kids.  Wanna guess where a lot of my rantings begin?  That’s right – my lack of discipline.  We’re running late, I’m on the phone or FB, the house is a mess, the kids are not disciplined, etc.

I’ve known it for years.  Confessed it consistently for the past year.  But I did very little to bring about a difference.  Sunday, I heard the Holy Spirit telling me it was time for change.  It’s going to take more than just admitting I have the problem.  More than confessing it and saying I want to do better.  I have to put my words into action.  So I started this week with a daily list of things to get done.  I’m planning out my week and resisting my weaknesses.  It’s a start and so far so good.

So where does hope come into the story?  I have a lot to work on and it is not going to be easy.  We’re talking about 36 years of past and some of it generational sin.  But, now my hope is in the Lord.  I’ve tried to do better before, but it was in my own strength.  My relationship with the Lord was not what it should have been then.  Now, the Holy Spirit leads me.  He is my strength and my Redeemer.  He alone can bring lasting change.

Responses

  1. In fact, Amy, I did cringe when I read the title.

    I have some discipline and organization problems myself. I recently forgot about my daughter’s piano lesson!

    Of course, I don’t think I would have forgotten to prepare for my sister’s milestone birthday,lol.

    Your closing point, that HE ALONE can bring lasting change? That’s one I would do well to remember.

    So thanks for the reminder.

  2. As a self proclaimed “list maker, master organizer”, I say you are on the right track. Want my advice for keeping computer time and phone calls to a reasonable length? Use a timer. Seriously. I’ve done it myself. I use them with the kids too. Timers are GREAT! 🙂

  3. I thought it was a great birthday present. I didn’t have anything to return 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

