Posted by: amyedwards | March 24, 2010

Do as I say … Not as I do

This morning, I received a phone call from a parent of a child in Noah’s class.  This child and Noah are best buddies, but it appears that they have exchanged a few cross words and some name-calling lately.  The parent was more than gracious about it and basically just wanted to make me aware of it before things get any worse.  Apparently there are some jealousy issues between the 3 best friends where 2 gang up on 1.  Each of the 3 have taken their turn being the victim, but feelings are still hurt.  To sum it up, they are acting like little girls!  Anyway, the parents are now all aware of what is happening and have all agreed to handle it appropriately.

Later today I went to the school to try and fly a kite with Colby’s class.  When I entered his classroom, three different adults felt the need to greet me with statements like, “Why is Noah in the principal’s office?”  or “What did Noah do this time?” or “Did you see Noah?”  Apparently, the school got involved and decided to talk to the boys about the problems their jealousy conflicts were creating for the classroom.  I can completely understand that.  After all, the school office had no idea that the parents had already discussed things and would get it under control.  My greeting was what ate at me all afternoon!  The more I thought about it, the more irritated I became.  And I’ll stop now before I get worked up again:)

I have been trying to decide how best to handle this situation with Noah when he gets home today.  Because he was guilty of saying unkind things and calling names, I had decided that he would spend a few minutes studying/writing “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Thy sight, O Lord, my strength and my redeemer.”  While I was repeating the verse to myself while trying to find where it is located, the Holy Spirit spoke to me and showed me that maybe I need to spend a few minutes studying/writing this scripture too.

Noah’s words may not have been pleasing to the Lord, but my mediation on the situation isn’t either.  Seems we’ll both be disciplined this afternoon!

Responses

  1. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. Ps 104:34
    May my meditation be sweet to Him; I will be glad in the Lord.

  3. I totally get your post and have had similar experiences. But seriously! Were those women even thinking??? How rude!


Leave a Reply

Categories

